Children & Youth

Sunday School

Sunday School is offered every Sunday during the 09.30am service (term-time and holidays).

The children and youth gather and process into church at the start of the eucharist, where they are welcomed with a blessing. They then move to the hall for their own program and return later for Holy Communion.

Recently we implemented Godly Play (more information about Godly Play is available here). It is a friendly and engaging method of teaching the traditions and sacred stories of our faith and encourages personal reflection without pressure to participate. It is appropriate for all ages and after each week’s story is presented, the younger children do their quiet work and older children can choose to do their own quiet work or enjoy for further discussion together.

Children also are actively involved in the all-age services and participate in special events such as our annual Nativity Play.

What we have planned:

Date Session Type Topic
Sun, 26 Jul Godly Play Parable of the Great Pearl
Sun, 2 Aug Godly Play Feeding of the 5000
Sun, 9 Aug Godly Play Parable of the Good Shepherd
Sun, 16 Aug Godly Play Parable of the Good Samaritan
Sun, 23 Aug Godly Play Parable of the Good Sower
Sun, 30 Aug All-age service in the Church Moses and the burning bush.
Gospel: Jesus gives Simon the name Peter.
Sun, 6 Sept Godly Play Parable of The Mustard Seed
Sun, 13 Sept Godly Play Exodus
Sun, 20 Sept Godly Play Exile and Return
Sun, 27 Sept Music workshop All abilities, everyone welcome
Sun, 4 Oct Godly Play The Ten Best Ways
Sun, 11 Oct Tbc tbc
Sun, 18 Oct Godly Play The Books of the Bible
Sun, 25 Oct Godly Play The Good Shepherd and World Communion
Sun, 1 Nov Tbc tbc
Sun, 8 Nov Godly Play The Circle of the Church Year
Sun, 15 Nov Godly Play Advent 1
Sun, 22 Nov Godly Play Advent 2
Sun, 29 Nov Godly Play Advent 3
Sun, 6 Dec Godly Play Advent 4
Sun, 13 Dec Nativity activity Nativity rehearsal
Sun, 20 Dec Nativity activity Nativity rehearsal
Tues, 22 Dec Nativity activity Nativity rehearsal
Thu, 24 Dec Nativity activity Nativity Play

Midnight Mass

Fri, 25 Dec Service Christmas Day

IMG_0900.jpeg

Youth Group for year 7, 8, 9 and 10

More information coming SOON!

All enquiries to the parish office

phone 94481412

email:  office@stnicolasanglican.org

Parents Group

Meets every Thursday from 10.30 am to Midday and is an opportunity for coffee and conversation while your littlies play under the gentle supervision of WWCC approved parishioners.

IMG_0875.jpeg

One thought on “Children & Youth

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s